What Is Lyme Disease?

I realized that if I’m going to be blogging about my experiences with Lyme disease (and probably everything else under the sun, knowing me), I should give you some idea what it is. I thought maybe I should write a long, researched entry about what Lyme disease was, the conflicts among doctors about diagnosing and treating it, the fact that it’s at epidemic proportions but many people who have it don’t realize it…

…And then I thought, why reinvent the wheel?

Here are two great resources on Lyme disease. The first is an article from The New Yorker on Lyme and the medical debates surrounding it. The second is a pamphlet by The Lyme Disease Association of Southeastern Pennsylvania, explaining basic information about Lyme. It contains the most comprehensive list of symptoms I’ve found, as well as tips on how to proceed with seeking a potential diagnosis if you think you have Lyme.

I hope these resources help you understand Lyme disease and why getting it diagnosed and treated can be such a crazy journey. If you have any questions regarding Lyme, please leave a comment and I’ll try to answer as best I can!

Leave a Reply

